Namita Gokhale named among the 20 laureates; Complete list of Sahitya Akademi winners here

Sahitya Akademi Price List 2021: Prominent writer Namita Gokhale, Punjabi writer Khalid Hussain and TMC MP Bratya Basu are among the 20 Sahitya Akademi Prize winners 2021 announced on December 30, 2021 by Sahitya Akademi. English writer Namita Gokhale won the award for her novel ‘Things to Leave Behind’. She is one of the authors who received the 2021 Sahitya Akademi Prize in 20 different languages.

The Sahitya Akademi annual price included seven books of poetry, five short stories, two novels, two plays and one book each of autobiography, biography, epic poetry and criticism. While Namita Gokhale won the literary honor for her historic epi novel, Bratya Basu and Khalid Hussain won the 2021 Sahitya Akademi Prize for a play and a collection of stories “Sullan Da Salan”, respectively.

According to Sahitya Akademi’s statement, the awards for Gujarati, Manipuri, Maithili and Urdu languages ​​will be announced at a later date.

Sahitya Akademi Prize 2021: How are the winners selected?

Sahitya Akademi explained that the books were selected for the Sahitya Akademi Prize on the basis of the recommendation made by a jury of three members in the languages ​​concerned in accordance with the procedure provided for this purpose.

The Sahitya Akademi board of directors pronounced the awards on the basis of unanimous selections made by the jurors or on the basis of a majority vote.

The Sahitya Akademi Awards are for books first published in the five years immediately preceding the award year (between January 1, 2015 and December 31, 2019).

Sahitya Akademi Prize 2021: what is the prize money?

The Sahitya Akademi 2021 award will include a coffin containing a shawl, an engraved copper plaque and an amount of Rs. 1,000,000.

The Sahitya Akademi Prize will be presented to the winners at the award ceremony to be held at a later date.

Source link

Comments are closed.